Some food fun…

As I devoured the remnants of my mom’s fruit salad yesterday, it occurred to me to share it with the world…or maybe just my loyal blog following.  I don’t know if she created it or not; but I have never had it anywhere else, so maybe it is an original.  It is just too good not to share.

When I was growing up, we looked forward to the holiday meals just for the fruit salad and we fought over it like little pigs.  Actually, with so many kids, I’m pretty sure we fought over all food like little pigs, but the fruit salad has stuck in my memory specifically–probably because that is the only thing I ever really remember my mom fighting over too.

Since it has no name other than “my mom’s fruit salad,” I will hereby dub it Seven Cups of Yum.

Here is a picture of Seven Cups of Yum before mixing:

img_0035

And here are the ingredients:

1 cup of pineapple tidbits

1 cup of dark cherries in light syrup

1 cup of mandarin oranges

1 cup walnuts (break up in baggie after measuring)

1 cup loosely packed coconut

1 cup mini marshmallows

1 cup sour cream

That’s it!  Be sure to thoroughly drain the fruits or your mixture will be kind of sloshy.  It tastes best after refrigeration.

If any of you try this recipe, I would love to know what you think of it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

